Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training – ASIST Awareness

Event Date: 15 June 2017
Share:

15th & 16th June - 9.00 am - 5.00 pm

Venue:  Media Resource Centre, Oxford Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5AH

Aim

ASIST aims to improve the methods used by all health, social care and emergency services professionals to support people at risk of suicide.

Recognise that caregivers and persons at risk are affected by personal and societal attitudes about suicide.

Discuss suicide in a direct manner with someone at risk.

Key Learning Outcomes

Identify risk alerts and develop related safeplans.

Demonstrate the skills required to intervene with a person at risk of suicide.

List the types of resources available to a person at risk, including him or herself.

Recognise that suicide prevention is broader than suicide first-aid and includes life promotion and self-care for caregivers.

There is no charge to attend these courses, however a cancellation charge may apply to non-attendance if sufficient notice is not given.

A booking form can be found here

For further information please phone 01597 827330 or email pwbotu(at)powys.gov.uk

 

 

Share:
Get Help Now

Check out ""Suicide First-Aid 2018: the evidence lives on" in Cardiff on 5 Feb 2018. Special guests Jonny Benjamin… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Dr Skarsten, Consultant Psychiatrist in South #Powys & smallholder David from #Builth on the isolation, shame & sti… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Christmas, Farming and Mental Health, & the Art of the Possible: your December 2017 Powys Mental Health eBulletin… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

latest news

Standing up for emotional health & wellbeing: Farmers

7 December 2017

Watch our video: representatives from the farming community talk to the Big Cheeses from Powys Teaching Health Board about mental health services in the county.

events

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays

Monday 11 December 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Llanfair Caereinion

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Newtown

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Meal Deal

Wednesday 13 December 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Hearing Voices Peer Support Group (2nd & 4th Thursday)

Thursday 14 December 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Music Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Dementia Friendly Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Newtown

Singing Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Dementia Friendly Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 20 December 2017

Machynlleth

Ponthafren Christmas Meal

Thursday 21 December 2017

Newtown Football Club

Celf-Able AGM

Tuesday 9 January 2018

Newtown

Adult Autism (ASD) Training

Monday 22 January 2018

Newtown

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Newtown

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Powys Community Health Council

The Bird Company – ‘Barriers’

Wednesday 24 January 2018

Celf-Able, Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 30 January 2018

Newtown

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Tuesday 6 February 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 7 February 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)

SURE for Mental Health Training (2 days)

Thursday 8 February 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 8 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Depression Busting Course (2 days)

Monday 26 February 2018

Newtown

Adult Autism (ASD) Training

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Brecon

Executive Committee

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Disability Awareness Training

Thursday 8 March 2018

Newtown

Dementia Awareness Training

Thursday 8 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Drug Use Screening Tool (DUST) Training

Wednesday 14 March 2018

Brecon

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Awareness Training

Wednesday 21 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Tuesdays (4 weeks)

Tuesday 27 March 2018

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think