Asylum: Action and Reaction conference

Event Date: 28 June 2017
Share:

A conference to celebrate 30 years of Asylum Magazine.

"During the lifetime of Asylum magazine, the mental health systems of many nations have moved from relying on the big old mental hospitals to relying mainly on a kind of 'care in the community'. To some extent this was a response to the thoroughgoing critique of mental health care posed by 'anti-psychiatry' during the 1960s and 70s.

Thirty years after the switch to 'care in the community', and fifty or sixty years after anti-psychiatry, the official response still has no idea that 'clients' could be helped by genuine solidarity and encouragement. There is no coherent official theory of cause or remedy. Never mind: everybody must blindly believe in the failed medical model, and 'clients' must be grateful for their medication."

Venue: University of Manchester

Time: 10am - 5pm

Cost: £10 for Asylum magazine subscribers, £30 otherwise

You can find out further information and book your place here.

Share:
Get Help Now

@ClairRatcliffe @WeCops Indeed the third sector has a key role here - @PAVOMH @PAVOtweets do much great work in our area #wecops

Uni of Manchester & @AfterSuicideUK need your help to research suicide in the UK Take part 👉… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

latest news

Beat Flu - Third Sector Grant Scheme

22 November 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board is offering small grants (up to £200) to third sector organisations to support them to promote flu vaccinations to their service users. Do you think you can help promote the flu vaccine to your services users? If your organisation supports people 65 or over or anyone wi

events

Bipolar Support Group

Monday 27 November 2017

Brecon & District Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Llanfair Caereinion

Executive Committee

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Managing Depression Course

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

PAVO AGM & Conference 2017

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Cefn Lea Conference Centre, Newtown

Carers Support Group (last Wednesday every month)

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Brecon & District Mind

Christmas Shopping Trip to Chester

Thursday 30 November 2017

Ponthafren, Welshpool

'The Good Old Days' Performance

Saturday 2 December 2017

Clyro

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays

Monday 4 December 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 5 December 2017

Newtown

Yoga (every Tuesday)

Tuesday 5 December 2017

Newtown

SURE for Mental Health Training (2 days)

Tuesday 5 December 2017

Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 6 December 2017

Machynlleth

Cuppa with a Copper (1st Wed of the month)

Wednesday 6 December 2017

Dyfed-Powys Police Surgery, Ponthafren

Memory Cafe (every Thursday)

Thursday 7 December 2017

Mid Powys Mind

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays

Monday 11 December 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Llanfair Caereinion

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Newtown

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Hearing Voices Peer Support Group (2nd & 4th Thursday)

Thursday 14 December 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Music Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Dementia Friendly Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Newtown

Singing Group

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Dementia Friendly Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 20 December 2017

Machynlleth

Celf-Able AGM

Tuesday 9 January 2018

Newtown

Adult Autism (ASD) Training

Monday 22 January 2018

Newtown

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Newtown

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Powys Community Health Council

The Bird Company – ‘Barriers’

Wednesday 24 January 2018

Celf-Able, Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 30 January 2018

Newtown

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Tuesday 6 February 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 7 February 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)

SURE for Mental Health Training (2 days)

Thursday 8 February 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 8 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Depression Busting Course (2 days)

Monday 26 February 2018

Newtown

Adult Autism (ASD) Training

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Brecon

Executive Committee

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Disability Awareness Training

Thursday 8 March 2018

Newtown

Dementia Awareness Training

Thursday 8 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Drug Use Screening Tool (DUST) Training

Wednesday 14 March 2018

Brecon

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Awareness Training

Wednesday 21 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Tuesdays (4 weeks)

Tuesday 27 March 2018

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think