Life Story Dementia Training

Event Date: 18 July 2017
Share:

Time:  9.30 am - 4.30 pm

Venue: Committee Room 2, Neuadd Brycheiniog, Cambrian Way, Brecon LD3 7HR

Aim

Life Story Work is a tool to enhance the care provided to older people, particularly those with dementia. The benefits for individuals, families/friends and for staff providing care include improving understanding of the individual, promoting relationships and facilitating delivery of person-centred care. However despite increased emphasis on using life story work to support care delivery, there are often difficulties in implementation.

Key Learning Outcomes

What is Life Story Work?

A range of life story tools are considered.

Tips offered for gathering life story information.

The importance of leadership, facilitation and developing positive cultures, to ensure implementation.

Understand the importance of the continuous use of the individuals life story.

There is no charge to attend these courses, however a cancellation charge may apply to non-attendance if sufficient notice is not given.

A booking form can be found here

For further information please phone 01597 827330 or email pwbotu(at)powys.gov.uk

 

 

 

Share:
Get Help Now

Tell us what you think of the draft #Dignity Charter of the #Powys #MentalHealth Planning & Development Partnership… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Join our growing team as a Consultant in Older Adult Psychiatry in Ystradgynlais bit.ly/powysdoctor07twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

latest news

Commissioner for Older People in Wales - vacancy

25 September 2017

Remuneration £90,000 (full-time). Can you make a real difference to the lives of older people in Wales? Can you ensure they have a voice on issues affecting them? Can you support and enable them to have the best opportunities to live a full and healthy life? Could you be the next Older People’s Com

events

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 27 September 2017

Machynlleth

Ramble with a big Cheese!

Wednesday 27 September 2017

'Walk, Talk & Listen’ session with senior staff from Powys Teaching Health Board in Rhayader

Reiki Sessions

Thursday 28 September 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Loan Sharks Awareness Session (Shark 'n' Chips)

Thursday 28 September 2017

Llanidloes

Dementia Awareness Training

Thursday 28 September 2017

Brecon

Mindfulness Course

Monday 2 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind (Crossgates)

Singing for Fun (1st & 3rd Mondays)

Monday 2 October 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Beat It Percussion - Drumming Together

Monday 2 October 2017

Dementia Friendly Music Making Session, Brecon

Autism Support Group

Tuesday 3 October 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Tai Chi

Wednesday 4 October 2017

Celf, Llandrindod Wells (Mid Powys Mind)

Compassionate Mental Health Conference (2 days)

Wednesday 4 October 2017

Pembrokeshire

Memory Cafe (every Thursday)

Thursday 5 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Community Workers Meeting (Montgomeryshire)

Thursday 5 October 2017

Credu (formerly Powys Carers Service)

Positive Behaviour Management Training – Refresher

Thursday 5 October 2017

Staylittle, Llanbrynmair

Life Story Dementia Training

Thursday 5 October 2017

Newtown

Carers and their rights in Wales

Friday 6 October 2017

An all-day event organised by Credu Connecting Carers near Newtown

Managing Boundaries & Saying No

Monday 9 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Couch to 5K Group (every Monday)

Monday 9 October 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Basic Drug Awareness Training

Tuesday 10 October 2017

Newtown

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Tuesday 10 October 2017

Brecon

Dementia Care Pathway for Powys Conversation and Action Event

Wednesday 11 October 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Stress & Anxiety Management Course (3 weeks)

Wednesday 11 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Italian Meal

Wednesday 11 October 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Reiki Sessions

Thursday 12 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Hearing Voices Peer Support Group (2nd & 4th Thursday)

Thursday 12 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Advanced Drug Awareness and Harm Reduction Training

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Newtown

Alcohol Brief Intervention Training

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Mental Health Awareness Training (half day)

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 18 October 2017

Machynlleth

DoLS Legal Update Annual Refresher Training

Thursday 19 October 2017

Newtown

Mental Health First Aid Course ( 2 days)

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Builth Wells (Mid Powys Mind)

Safer Injecting Training

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Newtown

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Reiki Sessions

Thursday 26 October 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Wednesday 1 November 2017

Newtown

Memory Cafe (every Thursday)

Thursday 2 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Alcohol Brief Intervention Training

Thursday 2 November 2017

Newtown

Mental Health First Aid (Adults) Training (2 days)

Thursday 2 November 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Friday 3 November 2017

Brecon

Singing for Fun (1st & 3rd Mondays)

Monday 6 November 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Couch to 5k Group (every Monday)

Monday 6 November 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Autism Support Group

Tuesday 7 November 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Building Self Worth Course

Wednesday 8 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Alcohol and Older Drinkers Training

Wednesday 8 November 2017

Newtown

Hearing Voices Peer Support Group (2nd & 4th Thursday)

Thursday 9 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 9 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Substance Misuse and Sexual Health Training

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Newtown

Safeguarding Learning Event

Wednesday 15 November 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Mental Health Awareness Course

Friday 17 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays (4 weeks)

Monday 20 November 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Drug Use Screening Tool (DUST) Training

Wednesday 22 November 2017

Newtown

Positive Behaviour Management Training – Refresher

Wednesday 22 November 2017

Brecon

Executive Committee

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Managing Depression Course

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Mid Powys Mind

PAVO AGM & Conference 2017

Wednesday 29 November 2017

Cefn Lea Conference Centre, Newtown

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays

Monday 4 December 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Memory Cafe (every Thursday)

Thursday 7 December 2017

Mid Powys Mind

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays

Monday 11 December 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Newtown

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Hearing Voices Peer Support Group (2nd & 4th Thursday)

Thursday 14 December 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Mental Capacity Act & Best Interest Training

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Newtown

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Tuesday 6 February 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 7 February 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 8 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Dementia Awareness Training

Thursday 8 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Drug Use Screening Tool (DUST) Training

Wednesday 14 March 2018

Brecon

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Awareness Training

Wednesday 21 March 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think