Grassroots - gold dust

Carla Rosenthal is a Participation Officer in our team at Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations. She tells us more about her work:

If a service is to be used by people, it makes sense to ask them how things are going. If it's not working well, it should be changed; if it is beneficial, lessons can be learned that help to improve other aspects.

We live in a world where sometimes it can seem that 'Big Wigs' call the shots and we just have to live with the consequences, however, things are changing. These days, 'Citizen Voices' are being requested to help shape all sorts of services that society uses.

'Grass roots gold dust' is the way I describe the views and opinions from anyone who has something to say about mental health services in Powys. 'Grassroots' describes the individuals who have actual experience of the services - they are the experts (see our Facebook page Powys Experts by Experience). What people tell me is gold dust - invaluable information that gets fed back to Powys Teaching Health Board and other interested service providers on the Powys Mental Health Planning and Development Partnership Board (PMHPDP).

Collecting the "gold dust" from the 'grassroots' across Powys comes from events such as Anne Woods' Stand Up for Emotional Health and Wellbeing meetings, my informal Coffee Moanings ("where constructive criticism meets cake") and Patients' Council meetings held at Felindre Ward in Bronllys Hospital. All the information gets collated into a report that is presented at the Powys Mental Health Planning and Development Partnership meetings by Individual Representatives who work hard to ensure that the people's voices get heard by the right people. Hopefully, through this type of engagement, the services meet the needs of those who need to use them.

The next Coffee Moaning is in Ystradgynlais Library on Friday 7th October 2016 10.30am - 12.30pm in the Wedding Room. Please contact Carla if you would like further information by ringing 01597 822191 or emailing: carla.rosenthal(at)pavo.org.uk

You can read more about Carla's work here.

Knighton Coffee Moaning - May 2016

Happy #RedNoseDay! Comic Relief funds projects around the UK incl Stand Up! for emotional health & wellbeing.… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

One week today! #compassionate #mentalhealth gathering Cardiff #ShoutoutWales Still chance to be part of MH change compassionatementalhealth.co.uk/speakers

Live in the Newtown area in #Powys and interested in Dementia? Come to our drop-in at Newtown Library on 30 March.… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

latest news

Ponthafren Welshpool Outreach is recruiting Volunteer Support Workers

23 March 2017

Could you offer some time and enthusiasm to support this mental health charity in North Powys?

events

Appropriate Adult Training (HAFAL)

Monday 27 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Monthly Carers Group

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Don't Dis-Me

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Training day looking at disability issues and how the arts can be used to empower individuals and communities (Llandrindod Wells)

Job Club (Hay-on-Wye)

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Stepping Stones Project, Brecon & District Mind

Job Club (Crickhowell)

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Stepping Stones Project, Brecon & District Mind

Dementia Network Meeting

Wednesday 29 March 2017

Brecon

Anger Management Course

Wednesday 29 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Compassionate Mental Health Conference (2 days)

Thursday 30 March 2017

Cardiff

Embracing Individuality

Thursday 30 March 2017

A group for adults on the autistic spectrum or those who think they might be (Rhayader)

Anger Management Session

Thursday 30 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Knit & Stitch Group

Friday 31 March 2017

Dementia Friendly Newtown

A Creative Space (every Thursday)

Thursday 6 April 2017

Celf O Gwmpas, Llandrindod Wells

Concert featuring The Quiet Ranters

Saturday 8 April 2017

Brecon & District Mind Event

Singing Group

Monday 10 April 2017

Brecon (Dementia Matters in Powys)

Brecon Library Book Club

Tuesday 11 April 2017

Dementia Friendly Brecon

The Bird House - Celf-Able

Thursday 13 April 2017

Exhibition at Celf o Gwmpas, Llandrindod Wells

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 25 April 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Building Self Worth - 3 week course

Wednesday 26 April 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

'Down the Line' Workshop (4 classes)

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Celf o Gwmpas, Llandrindod Wells

ACTivate Your Life classes - Tuesdays (4 weeks)

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Brecon Social Club (every Wednesday)

Wednesday 3 May 2017

Dementia Friendly Brecon

THRIVE - For Staff & Volunteers - 3 week course

Monday 8 May 2017

Mid Powys Mind, LLandrindod Wells

Talk about Therapeutic Benefits of Pottery Making

Tuesday 9 May 2017

Brecon & District Mind

Mental Health Today Wales 2017

Wednesday 10 May 2017

Conference & Exhibition in Cardiff

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 11 May 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Dementia Awareness Day

Wednesday 17 May 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board Event in Newtown

Executive Committee

Tuesday 30 May 2017

Powys Community Health Council

TrekFest - The Beacons 2017

Saturday 3 June 2017

Walk the walk this year with Bipolar UK (2 days)

Stress & Anxiety Management - 3 week course

Tuesday 6 June 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Summer Fair

Saturday 10 June 2017

Brecon & District Mind Event

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 June 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Storytelling for Health Conference (2 days)

Friday 16 June 2017

Arts in Health, Wales

Asylum: Action and Reaction conference

Wednesday 28 June 2017

A conference in Manchester to celebrate 30 years of Asylum magazine

Mental Health Awareness Course

Wednesday 5 July 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 25 July 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Tea-on-Top with Brecon & District Mind

Sunday 30 July 2017

Join us for a walk up the Crug

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Wednesdays (4 weeks)

Wednesday 2 August 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 10 August 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 22 August 2017

Powys Community Health Council

ISPS Conference in Liverpool

Wednesday 30 August 2017

International Society for Psychological & Social Approaches to Psychosis (ISPS)

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 September 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 9 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays (4 weeks)

Monday 20 November 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Executive Committee

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 8 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Powys Community Health Council
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think