Cash gift to boost Ponthafren Association's counselling service

Published On: 20 July 2017
Share:

The Ponthafren Association, which promotes positive mental health and wellbeing in Montgomeryshire, has recently received a donation from Mr Tim Halford who was the previous Chairperson of Ponthafren.

Tim decided for his 70th birthday that instead of receiving presents he would request donations be given to Ponthafren Association towards their counselling service. Tim's Birthday Fund has raised a massive total of £2,045 (with £317.50 gift aid). A total of £2362.50.

Association Manger Nicky Morris, said 'we are very grateful to Tim for recognising the value of our project. This amount will make such a significant difference to many people's lives and will be life changing for many. What a lasting legacy from Tim's birthday'.

Ponthafren provides a unique blend of services to address the mental health needs of its members and the citizens of Montgomeryshire in North Powys. The Association has developed two main centres in Montgomeryshire, at Newtown and Welshpool, with a satellite provision in Llanidloes in the form of a group which meets weekly on a Thursday. The centres provide a community facility that gives people experiencing mental health difficulties opportunities to find: a 'safe place'; peer support, crisis support; and access to a wide range of learning and work related opportunities.

For more information visit the Ponthafren Association website through which supporters can now donate.

Share:
Get Help Now

Don't forget to sign up to @TREDCymru's review into the Eating Disorder services review. There is an online survey… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Excellent, much needed study: Experiencing mental health diagnosis - a systematic review of qual studies, 78 papers… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Improving our 'Child to Adult Eating Disorder Services in Wales' transition process. @1000LivesWales is holding a… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

latest news

Mental Health Services in Powys survey

5 February 2018

What do you think of mental health services in Powys? Complete a short survey to feed in your views to the reps sitting on the Powys Mental Health Planning & Development Partnership.

events

T'ai Chi

Monday 23 April 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 24 April 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

New Pathways SURE for Mental Health

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Interactive Conference 2018, Wrexham

Compassionate Mental Health Conference (2 days)

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Brecon, Powys

Talk on Natural Health and Wellbeing

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Tania Dolley explores the positive mental and physical benefits of connecting with nature and the outdoors (Brecon & District Mind)

Visit to Abbey-Cwm-Hir Hall, Llandrindod Wells

Thursday 26 April 2018

Ponthafren Association

80's Disco Night

Saturday 28 April 2018

Newtown

Sculpture Workshop 1 with Geraint Edwards

Tuesday 1 May 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 2 May 2018

Newtown

Smartphone Workshop

Wednesday 2 May 2018

Ponthafren, Newtown

Become a Dementia Friend

Tuesday 8 May 2018

Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 9 May 2018

Machynlleth

Stress & Anxiety Management Course (3 weeks, Wednesdays)

Wednesday 9 May 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Mental Health Today Wales 2018

Thursday 10 May 2018

Conference in Cardiff

Public Health Network Cymru - Sustainability Showcase 2018

Thursday 10 May 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Coffee Morning

Sunday 13 May 2018

Dementia Friendly Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 15 May 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Networking Event - Mental Health Awareness Week

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 17 May 2018

Guilsfield

Ink Drawing 2 with Sorell Matei

Thursday 17 May 2018

Mid Powys Mind

SafeTALK:Suicide Alertness Course for Everyone

Monday 21 May 2018

Bracken Trust, Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Caersws

Managing Depression Course (3 weeks, Mondays)

Monday 4 June 2018

Presteigne

THRIVE Course (5 weeks, Mondays)

Monday 4 June 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Newtown

Community Workers Meetings (Montgomeryshire)

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Credu (formerly Powys Carers)

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 13 June 2018

Machynlleth

Talk by Ted Maidment on the life of Judy Garland

Thursday 14 June 2018

Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 19 June 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Sculpture Workshop 2 with Geraint Edwards

Tuesday 19 June 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 21 June 2018

Guilsfield

Stencil Techniques 1 in Painting with Sorell Matei

Thursday 21 June 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Caersws

Mental Health First Aid Course (2 days)

Tuesday 3 July 2018

Presteigne

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 4 July 2018

Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Machynlleth

Stencil Techniques 2 in Painting with Sorell Matei

Thursday 12 July 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Sculpture Workshop 3 with Geraint Edwards

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 19 July 2018

Guilsfield

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Caersws
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think