If you are urgently looking for help and advice

.... because you are concerned about your own mental health or that of a relative or friend, there are many places you can turn to for help.

  • If you are looking for help from Mental Health Services provided by the NHS, then in most cases you will be asked to contact your GP for help first.  If you do not have your local GP contact details to hand you can access them here.
  • If you live in Wales then you can contact C.A.L.L. (Community Advice & Listening Line).  A Helpline that offers free emotional support and information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call them free on 0800 132 737 or text “help” to 81066.  Visit the C.A.L.L. website here  
  • NHS Direct Wales is a health advice and information service available 24 hours a day, every day.  You can call them on 0845 46 47 if you are feeling ill and are unsure what to do.

If the help you need is very urgent and you are worried about the imminent safety of yourself or others them please read on for suggestions about how you might get urgent help. 

Most of this information (though the numbers are Powys related) comes from Mind, a national organisation that can provide information and advice. You can call them on 0300 123 3393 or check out their own website here.

I am having thoughts of suicide and believe that I am in immediate danger

  • To talk to someone who is trained to listen, contact the Samaritans on 116 123 (free to call). They are open 24 hours a day.
  • If you have a crisis card that you have prepared based on previous experience, get  that now and contact your support people.

I have taken an overdose or I am about to seriously harm or kill myself

  • Call 999. The call is free. You can ask to stay on the line while you wait for help to arrive.
  • Alternatively you can go to the nearest Accident and Emergency department (A&E).

If you are living in Powys this link to A & E hospitals might be useful.

Or call NHS Direct Wales on 0845 46 47.

I fear that I am about to seriously harm or kill another person

  • Call 999 and ask for help.

Someone I know is in immediate danger of seriously harming/killing themselves or endangering someone else

  • Contact social services. They can arrange for the person to be assessed under the Mental Health Act. Please be aware that this could lead to the person being sectioned in hospital and treated without their consent.

Powys Social Services working hours 01597 826 000

Powys Social Services Outside of these hours 01597 825 275

Emergency out-of-hours Careline 0845 054 4847

  • Contact NHS Direct Wales free on 0845 4647 to get contact details for local area social and mental health services, medical advice & information.
  • Call 999 if you cannot get through anywhere else.

Further information

If these situations do not describe you at the moment, other forms of help might be more appropriate. For further information, please follow the links to:

Link to Local Mental Health organisations

Link to National Mental Health organisations

Link to other local services

Link to Mind info on suicide, crisis services, panic attacks

You can also download some flyers which might help here:

Feeling on the edge

Feeling overwhelmed

U can cope

Get Help Now

Survey about Farming Life and Wellbeing from @CRPowys and @Agecymrupowys to help them develop their services to me… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

New job opportunity with Credu based in #Llandrindod #Powys #Carers @CreduCarers please RT or share with anyone yo… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

We currently have a job opportunity for a Centre Assistant at Ponthafren Association. If you would like to download… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

latest news

Brecon & District Mind - vacancy

8 August 2018

Community Well-being Worker Hours:  16 hrs per week Salary:  £18,870 pro rata Location:  Brecon and outreach centres Contract: Fixed term to March 2019 subject to further funding Contact:  Michael Power on 01874 611529 or email info(at)breconmind.org.uk Closing date Fr

events

Driving Range at the Golf Club

Tuesday 21 August 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 22 August 2018

Caersws

Garden Open Day for Charity

Saturday 25 August 2018

Ponthafren, Newtown

A walk around the Rock Park

Tuesday 28 August 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Tai Chi (Mondays)

Monday 3 September 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Good Grief (group for people dealing with bereavement or loss)

Monday 3 September 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Dementia Friends Dyfi Valley (first Tuesday of the month)

Tuesday 4 September 2018

Memory Cafe - Machynlleth

Life Story Dementia Training

Wednesday 5 September 2018

Brecon

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 5 September 2018

Newtown

Anger Management Training (5th, 12th & 19th September)

Wednesday 5 September 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Youth Group Mid Powys Mind (every Thursday)

Thursday 6 September 2018

Llandrindod Wells

A Disorder for Everyone!

Thursday 6 September 2018

Challenging the culture of psychiatric diagnosis: London conference

My Generation (8 weeks)

Friday 7 September 2018

Mid Powys Mind (Presteigne)

Budgeting Skills

Monday 10 September 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Children Who Self Harm (one day course)

Tuesday 11 September 2018

Newtown

Powys Community Health Council - Full Meeting

Tuesday 11 September 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Mums Matter new Autumn group - Rhayader

Tuesday 11 September 2018

The Autumn group for new Mums run by Mid Powys Mind.

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 12 September 2018

Machynlleth

Mums Matter new Autumn group - Knighton

Wednesday 12 September 2018

A group for new Mums run by Mid Powys Mind.

Here I Am: Focusing workshop with Elizabeth Halls

Saturday 15 September 2018

A Bleddfa Centre event near Knighton in East Powys

Good Grief (group for people dealing with bereavement or loss)

Monday 17 September 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 18 September 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 20 September 2018

Guilsfield

Dementia Friend Training Session

Thursday 20 September 2018

Brecon

Mental Health Awareness Course

Monday 24 September 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Mental Health and Policing Conference 2018 (2 days)

Monday 24 September 2018

Cardiff

Building Self Worth (3 week course)

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Mid Powys Mind

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Caersws

Tai Chi (Mondays)

Monday 1 October 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Good Grief (group for people dealing with bereavement or loss)

Monday 1 October 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Someone's Home

Tuesday 2 October 2018

Hay Theatre Production in Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 3 October 2018

Newtown

Adult Safeguarding Awareness Training

Tuesday 9 October 2018

Newtown

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 9 October 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Machynlleth

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 11 October 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Inward Journey - Focusing workshop with Elizabeth Halls

Saturday 13 October 2018

A Bleddfa Centre event near Knighton in East Powys

Good Grief (group for people dealing with bereavement or loss)

Monday 15 October 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 16 October 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Stress & Anxiety Management Course (3 weeks)

Wednesday 17 October 2018

Knighton

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 18 October 2018

Guilsfield

Dementia Awareness Training

Thursday 18 October 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Dementia Friend Training Session

Friday 19 October 2018

Ystradgynlais

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 24 October 2018

Caersws

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Tuesday 30 October 2018

Brecon

THRIVE Course (5 weeks)

Friday 2 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Adult Safeguarding Awareness Training

Monday 5 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Tai Chi (Mondays)

Monday 5 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 7 November 2018

Newtown

PAVO 2018 Conference and AGM

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Cefn Lea Conference Centre, Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 14 November 2018

Machynlleth

Managing Depression Course (3 weeks)

Wednesday 14 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 22 November 2018

Guilsfield

Challenging Behaviour and Autistic Spectrum Disorder Training

Thursday 22 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Mental Health First Aid Course (2 days)

Tuesday 27 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Dols (Deprivation of Liberty Safeguarding) Legal Guidance Training

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Caersws

Domestic Abuse (Adults) Training

Tuesday 4 December 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Powys Community Health Council - Full Council

Tuesday 4 December 2018

Llandrindod Wells

Mental Health Awareness (half day training)

Tuesday 4 December 2018

Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 5 December 2018

Newtown

Celf-Able Art Group

Wednesday 12 December 2018

Machynlleth

Celf-Able Art Group

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Llanfair Caereinion

Celf-Able Art Group

Thursday 20 December 2018

Guilsfield

Dementia Awareness Training

Tuesday 5 February 2019

Newtown

Adult Safeguarding Awareness Training

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Brecon

Children Who Self Harm (one day course)

Friday 15 February 2019

Brecon

Challenging Behaviour in Dementia Training

Thursday 21 February 2019

Newtown

Life Story Dementia Training

Thursday 7 March 2019

Newtown
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think