Click to follow our mental health blog
We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us w think

Welcome to the Powys Mental Health website.

Thank you for visiting and we hope that this site can provide you with the information you need. The site has a focus on local mental health information, events/training and news but it also provides links and updates nationally. We hope the site can help you find out more about the services and opportunities that are available to those of us that live and work in Powys.

Can we help you find what you are looking for?  You can contact the Powys Mental Health Information Service on 01686 628 300 or 01597 822191 or email us pamhinfo@pavo.org.uk.

An image of the star of recovery made up of words relating to Powys Agency for Mental Health and mental health generally, including hope, freedom, recovery, respect, rights, participation, relationships, family, friendships and culture.

We aim to provide you with a range of information which comes from many perspectives. There are many different views about what mental illness is, its causes and what may be done to help those experiencing mental distress. This website aims to offer you the chance to explore the breadth of information and ideas surrounding mental distress.

We want to ensure that we provide you with the very best information we can, in the best way we can. We need your help to do this. Please do get in touch with your feedback and suggestions.  You can provide feedback in our confidential survey here or you can contact us directly with your feedback on 01686 628 300 or 01597 822 191, or email pamhinfo@pavo.org.uk.

Get Help Now

Service User & Carer Partnership Group meeting

Thursday 24 July 2014

Are you a mental health service user or carer in North Wales?

Mid Powys Mind Summer Open Day - Presteigne

Thursday 24 July 2014

All welcome to come along and find out more about Mid Powys Mind's range of activities and treatments.

Tea on Top

Sunday 27 July 2014

A Friend of Brecon and District Mind event

Open Day - Welshpool Ponthafren Outreach Centre

Saturday 2 August 2014

Come along to Ponthafren's Welshpool Open Day and find out more about the activities there.

Mid Powys Mind Summer Open Day - Builth Wells

Tuesday 5 August 2014

All welcome to come along and find out more about Mid Powys Mind's activities and treatments.

Social Creative Writing Group

Thursday 7 August 2014

Llandrindod Wells 7 to 9 pm

Mental Health Awareness training

Thursday 7 August 2014

A half day course with Cartrefi Cymru in Welshpool.

Brecon Mental Health Carers Group

Monday 11 August 2014

Do you care for someone in the Brecon area experiencing mental distress?

Welshpool Bipolar Support group

Friday 15 August 2014

A new group open to anyone affected by bipolar, in Welshpool and surrounding areas.

Bipolar UK Brecon Support Group

Monday 25 August 2014

7 to 9 pm

Mid Powys Mind Summer Open Day - Rhayader

Tuesday 2 September 2014

All welcome to come along and find out more about Mid Powys Mind's activities and treatments.

Social Creative Writing Group

Thursday 4 September 2014

Llandrindod Wells 7 to 9 pm

Mindfulness in Crossgates - for everyone

Thursday 4 September 2014

A new course run by Mid Powys Mind throughout Autumn

Fundraising drive for Tea Cosy Memory Cafe, Brecon

Saturday 6 September 2014

Find out more about the new venture of Brecon Dementia Friendly Community

Brecon Mental Health Carers Group

Monday 8 September 2014

Do you care for someone in the Brecon area experiencing mental distress?

Ponthafren Association Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 9 September 2014

Ponthafren Centre, Newtown Starts at 12 noon

World Suicide Prevention Day 2014

Wednesday 10 September 2014

Suicide Prevention: One World Connected Suicide is a major public health problem. The psychological pain that leads each of these individuals to take their lives is unimaginable. ...

Anger management course

Monday 15 September 2014

A 3 week course with Mid Powys Mind in Llandrindod Wells

Alcohol Brief Intervention training

Wednesday 17 September 2014

Powys teaching Health Board session on offering support to people drinking hazardous and harmful amounts.

Welshpool Bipolar Support group

Friday 19 September 2014

A new group open to anyone affectd by bipolar in Welshpool and surrounding areas.

Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training - ASIST

Tuesday 23 September 2014 to Wednesday 24 September 2014

A 2 day course run by Bridgend Association of Voluntary Organisations in Maesteg

Creating narratives for the Recovery Movement: the Good, the True & the Beautiful

Friday 26 September 2014

9.00-Late Friday 26th September 2014 The Athena Centre, Queen Street, Leicester LE1 1QD

Bipolar UK Brecon Support Group

Monday 29 September 2014

7 to 9 pm

Social Creative Writing Group

Thursday 2 October 2014

Llandrindod Wells 7 to 9 pm

Brecon Mental Health Carers Group

Monday 13 October 2014

Do you care for someone in the Brecon area experiencing mental distress?

How to manage stress and anxiety course

Monday 13 October 2014

A 3 week course run by Mid Powys Mind in Llandrindod Wells

Alcohol Brief Intervention training

Tuesday 14 October 2014

A Powys teaching Health Board session on offering support to people drinking hazardous and harmful amounts

Welshpool Bipolar Support group

Friday 17 October 2014

A new group open to anyone affected by bipolar in Welshpool and surrounding areas.

Vulnerable adults and anti-social behaviour an exploration of current practice

Monday 20 October 2014

The Centre for Mental Health and Society at Bangor University, in collaboration with two police forces (North Wales and Dyfed Powys police) and two third sector organisations (Unll...

Social Creative Writing Group

Thursday 6 November 2014

Llandrindod Wells 7 to 9 pm

Brecon Mental Health Carers Group

Monday 10 November 2014

Do you care for someone in the Brecon area experiencing mental distress?

Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations Conference & AGM

Monday 10 November 2014

PAVO looks at future funding of the 3rd Sector in Powys.

Alcohol Brief Intervention training

Thursday 13 November 2014

Powys teaching Health Board session on offering support to people drinking hazardous and harmful amounts

Motiv8

Thursday 20 November 2014

A day of fun activities in North Wales designed to promote better physical health and emotional wellbeing.

Welshpool Bipolar Support group

Friday 21 November 2014

A new group open to anyone affected by bipolar in Welshpool and surrounding areas.

Social Creative Writing Group

Thursday 4 December 2014

Llandrindod Wells 7 to 9 pm

Brecon Mental Health Carers Group

Monday 8 December 2014

Do you care for someone in the Brecon area experiencing mental distress?

Welshpool Bipolar Support group

Friday 19 December 2014

This group is open to anyone affected by bipolar in Welshpool and surrounding areas.