Welcome to the Powys Mental Health website. The website is provided by the Powys Mental Health Information Service which is part of Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations (PAVO).

Thank you for visiting and we hope that this site can provide you with the information you need. The site has a focus on local mental health information, events/training and news, but it also provides links and updates nationally. We hope the site can help you find out more about the services and opportunities that are available to those of us that live and work in Powys.

Can we help you find what you are looking for? You can contact the Powys Mental Health Information Service on 01686 628300 or 01597 822191 or email us at mentalhealth(at)pavo.org.uk

An image of a woman looking at the wellbeing tree in the Recovery Room on Felindre Ward in Bronllys Hospital, Powys.

We aim to provide you with a range of information which comes from many perspectives. There are many different views about what mental illness is, its causes and what may be done to help those experiencing mental distress. This website aims to offer you the chance to explore the breadth of information and ideas surrounding mental distress.

We want to ensure that we provide you with the very best information we can, in the best way we can. We need your help to do this. Please do get in touch with your feedback and suggestions.  You can provide feedback in our confidential survey here or you can contact us directly with your feedback on 01686 628 300 or 01597 822 191, or email mentalhealth(at)pavo.org.uk

 

Disclaimer
The information on this website is sourced from a range of providers in the voluntary and statutory sectors.  PAVO is not responsible for the contents or reliability of the linked web sites and does not necessarily endorse the views expressed within them. Listing should not be taken as endorsement of any kind. We cannot guarantee that the external links will always work as we have no direct control over them.

Walk Leader Training Session

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Welshpool

Executive Committee Meeting

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Powys Community Health Council (Llandrindod Wells)

Celf-Able - Art, Opportunity, Inclusion

Tuesday 28 February 2017

A new art group and network by and for disabled artist in Powys (Newtown)

LGBTQ+

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Peer Support & Advice in a no-pressure Support Group (Llandrindod Wells)

Monthly Carers Group

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

St David's Day Meal

Wednesday 1 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Stress & Anxiety Management Course (3 weeks)

Wednesday 1 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Working to Recovery

Wednesday 1 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Carers Information and Support Programme (CrISP)

Thursday 2 March 2017

4 weekly sessions for carers, friends or family of people with dementia (Brecon Dementia Friendly Event)

Knit & Knatter - Every Thursday

Thursday 2 March 2017

The Library, Brecon

Research in Wales Conference (Cardiff)

Thursday 2 March 2017

Public Health Wales - Research Collaborations:Working Together in Wales

A little, aloud

Thursday 2 March 2017

Training Workshop for Volunteers & Care Professionals (Newtown)

Brecon Walking Group - Every Friday

Friday 3 March 2017

A dementia friendly event

DoLS (Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards) training

Monday 6 March 2017

A free training session in Newtown

Appropriate Adult Training (HAFAL)

Monday 6 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Mental Health Film Nights

Monday 6 March 2017

Ponthafren, Welshpool

Printmaking Workshop (3 classes)

Tuesday 7 March 2017

Celf o Gwmpas, LLandrindod Wells

Quiz

Wednesday 8 March 2017

Brecon Neuro Cafe

Come and See: Sharing best practice engaging LGBT communities

Wednesday 8 March 2017

Engage Cymru Event in Aberystwyth

My Memories - Dementia Carers Support Group

Wednesday 8 March 2017

Newtown

Tell your Story - a digital workshop

Wednesday 8 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Build Resilience Skills

Thursday 9 March 2017

Training Session at Ponthafren, Newtown

Abstracting Nature

Thursday 9 March 2017

Art Classes in Welshpool (Ponthafren)

Co-production in Wales (Newtown) Seminar

Thursday 9 March 2017

Learning Disability Wales

Embracing Individuality

Friday 10 March 2017

A group for adults on the autistic spectrum or those who think they might be (Llandrindod Wells)

Full Council Meeting - Powys Community Health Council

Tuesday 14 March 2017

Llandrindod Wells

Emotional Wellbeing Session

Thursday 16 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Positive Behaviour Management - Refresher Course

Thursday 16 March 2017

Welshpool

Singing Group

Monday 20 March 2017

Brecon (Dementia Matters in Powys)

Don't Dis-Me

Tuesday 21 March 2017

Training day looking at disability issues and how the arts can be used to empower individuals and communities (Newtown)

Fire Safety Talk

Wednesday 22 March 2017

Brecon Neuro Cafe

Brain Training

Wednesday 22 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Calan (formerly Women's Aid)

Wednesday 22 March 2017

Talk about services they offer (Mid Powys Mind)

My Memories - Dementia Carers Support Group

Wednesday 22 March 2017

Newtown

Talk about the value of reminiscence work

Thursday 23 March 2017

Brecon & District Mind

Conflict Resolution Session

Thursday 23 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Appropriate Adult Training (HAFAL)

Monday 27 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Monthly Carers Group

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Don't Dis-Me

Tuesday 28 March 2017

Training day looking at disability issues and how the arts can be used to empower individuals and communities (Llandrindod Wells)

Dementia Network Meeting

Wednesday 29 March 2017

Brecon

Anger Management Course

Wednesday 29 March 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Compassionate Mental Health Conference (2 days)

Thursday 30 March 2017

Cardiff

Embracing Individuality

Thursday 30 March 2017

A group for adults on the autistic spectrum or those who think they might be (Rhayader)

Anger Management Session

Thursday 30 March 2017

Ponthafren, Newtown

Concert featuring The Quiet Ranters

Saturday 8 April 2017

Brecon & District Mind Event

Singing Group

Monday 10 April 2017

Brecon (Dementia Matters in Powys)

The Bird House - Celf-Able

Thursday 13 April 2017

Exhibition at Celf o Gwmpas, Llandrindod Wells

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 25 April 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Building Self Worth - 3 week course

Wednesday 26 April 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

'Down the Line' Workshop (4 classes)

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Celf o Gwmpas, Llandrindod Wells

ACTivate Your Life classes - Tuesdays (4 weeks)

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

THRIVE - For Staff & Volunteers - 3 week course

Monday 8 May 2017

Mid Powys Mind, LLandrindod Wells

Talk about Therapeutic Benefits of Pottery Making

Tuesday 9 May 2017

Brecon & District Mind

Mental Health Today Wales 2017

Wednesday 10 May 2017

Conference & Exhibition in Cardiff

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 11 May 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 30 May 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Stress & Anxiety Management - 3 week course

Tuesday 6 June 2017

Mid Powys Mind, Llandrindod Wells

Summer Fair

Saturday 10 June 2017

Brecon & District Mind Event

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 June 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Storytelling for Health Conference (2 days)

Friday 16 June 2017

Arts in Health, Wales

Asylum: Action and Reaction conference

Wednesday 28 June 2017

A conference in Manchester to celebrate 30 years of Asylum magazine

Mental Health Awareness Course

Wednesday 5 July 2017

Mid Powys Mind

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 25 July 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Tea-on-Top with Brecon & District Mind

Sunday 30 July 2017

Join us for a walk up the Crug

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Wednesdays (4 weeks)

Wednesday 2 August 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 10 August 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 22 August 2017

Powys Community Health Council

ISPS Conference in Liverpool

Wednesday 30 August 2017

International Society for Psychological & Social Approaches to Psychosis (ISPS)

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 September 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 9 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

ACTivate Your Life Classes - Mondays (4 weeks)

Monday 20 November 2017

Powys Teaching Health Board, Brecon

Executive Committee

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Powys Community Health Council

Montgomeryshire Local Committee

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Radnorshire & Brecknock Local Committee

Thursday 8 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Executive Committee

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Powys Community Health Council

Full Council Meeting

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Powys Community Health Council

our latest tweets

Join the team here at #BreconMind - new part time #jobopportunity available now! Help us #support more people with… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

It's Eating Disorders Awareness Week. Find out how a young person lived with #anorexia in #Powys recently… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

My take on it: 0 in 4 have a 'mental illness.' 4 in 4 experience some kind of mental distress at some point in thei… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think" title="We value your feedback on our website, so please tell us what you think